Tough Read

I have strong opinions on some really divisive issues. One in particular is abortion. I know that there are people I know, like and love who see this and other issues in a completely different light than I do.

I don’t believe morality is relative, and while I seek to understand complexity, I’ve said before that complexity does not necessitate compromise. I may find someone’s belief/statement/stance to be utterly absurd, and I am willing to say something is morally wrong, but I hope not to demean any person or be disrespectful. (I don’t claim to get this right all the time, I’m a sinner and I know I can get pithy and out of line.) I am not an expert on how to balance a strong yet loving approach, but I believe it’s possible.

I think you get what I’m trying to say. I suppose I’m saying all this because I want to share with you something that I find utterly offensive and disturbing, but I want you to know that it’s not because I just assume all people who support abortion are offensive or disturbing and have bad ideas or reasons for their beliefs.

That said, I just read an article titled “Bro-Choice: How #HB2 Hurts Texas Men Who Like Women” which was written by someone who I believe is a student at the University of Texas. In the article, this young man tries to incite young men to support “abortion rights” for women, and he tries to persuade his peers by sharing the “reasons why Texas guys should oppose #HB2.”

Here’s the crux of his final point:

“Making abortion essentially inaccessible in Texas will add an anxiety to sex that will drastically undercut its joys. And don’t be surprised if casual sex outside of relationships becomes far more difficult to come by.”

This is perhaps the most offensive reasoning I have heard. I’m saddened that this is being espoused by a young man who, judging from his bio, has a desire to be a leader among his peers and into the future. It’s not so much his view of abortion as a form of birth control (which I of course don’t agree with), but his view of sex, which sounds utterly self-serving.

I pray, for everyone’s sake, that sex can be understood differently, not as an impulse or a “need” that we allow (use?) others to service, but as a reflection of self-sacrificing love in the context of marriage. That’s what it was intended for, to the glory of God.

4 Comments

Filed under grapplings, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Tough Read

  1. John Vernon

    Beautifully written Marissa…young men of today need to re-evaluate their priorities and determine what path they will follow in life…God gave us Free Will…but Will those young mens choices truly make them Free…

  2. Pam Gamwell

    Wow. It’s shocking that an educated young man would see sex in such an unthoughtful and narcissistic way. As the mother of a college age girl this makes me fearful for my daughter’s well being and nervous about the kinds of men she may meet. I will share this with her so that she will be aware of the lies from the enemy that some young men are buying into and will hopefully make wise choices. I pray that this young man’s heart would be softened and that he would repent.

  3. Very well said Marissa! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and also your story on http://www.lifenews.com/2013/08/19/my-parents-were-at-the-circus-when-i-was-born/. God Bless

Leave a Reply

