Heart Explosion

My nephew, Nate, just turned 5! If you’ve been around since we first met, you know he stole my heart from the beginning.

It started with this guy.

It started with this guy.

I spent several months living with Nate and his parents (my brother and sister-in-law) in Austin, shortly after he came home to us from Ethiopia. It was such a special time for me in so many ways. Not least of all, because I got to spend so much time with Nater. I remember thinking, “If I loved him any more, my heart would explode.” I think it was my first small glimpse of what it must feel like to be a parent.

my favorite houseguest!

my favorite houseguest!

then came baby Taylor!

then came baby Taylor!

Of course, since then, someone else has stolen my heart.

ars_0008

big day. big guy.

And we have a baby girl who’s on her way to us even now.

surprise!

surprise!

Nate, his sister, Taylor, and his parents are all coming home from Africa for a visit pretty soon, and will be here to meet our baby girl. It’s going to be magical. And my heart will probably explode.

face shot!

face shot!

9 Comments

Filed under Grace and the like, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Heart Explosion

  1. Jessica DuBroc

    I love, love, love this post!

  2. Only God could create that kind of explosive love in a human heart.

  3. Bryan Varenkamp

    Great post, Marissa. We’re praying for you.

  4. Congratulations Marissa!!!! I love your posts and I am ever so thankful for all that God has blessed us with!!!!
    kindest regards,
    John

  5. Pingback: It happened. | MarshaGarbage

Leave a Reply

