What I’m Reading: Goodness a la Wendell Berry

I suddenly love reading.  It’s hilarious.  So I’m re-visiting some books I never finished in years past.  Enter Jayber Crow, a book I already plan to share with my dad when I’m finished:

“…Beyond that, the question is if I have not been also blessed, as I believe I have — and, beyond that, even called.  Surely I was called to be, for one thing, a barber.  All my real opportunities have been to be a barber, as you’ll see, and being a barber has made other opportunities.  I have had the life I have had because I kept on being a barber, you might say, in spite of my intentions to the contrary.

Now I have had most of the life I am going to have, and I can see what it has been.  I can remember those early years when it seemed to me I was cut completely adrift, and times when, looking back at earlier times, it seemed I had been wandering in the dark woods of error.  But now it looks to me as though I was following a path that was laid out for me, unbroken, and maybe even as straight as possible, from one end to the other, and I have this feeling, which never leaves me anymore, that I have been led.”

Jayber Crow, by Wendell Berry

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

