Hand-me-downs

This evening I made the drive from Austin to Corpus Christi.  It began in wretched-4:30pm-on-Friday-afternoon Austin traffic and I was not so sure I was in the mood for a solo road trip.  Things started looking up when I was scanning the radio and became inordinately excited about Kid Rock and Sheryl Crow singing “Picture” (I don’t know why I felt a sudden attachment to that song).

Anyway, things kept looking up as I made it through and beyond the Austin-San Marcos-New Braunfels traffic and it began to really feel like Summer.  I drove through a bright, sunny, dense rain shower that required a solid level 3 windshield wiper speed and I could smell the rain.  I am not poetic and I think until today I thought people were making that up.  It’s real.  Rain smells great.

I talked to my mom on the phone at one point and I found myself saying “This is a beautiful drive!  It’s really beautiful!”.  I sounded just like my dad, and I loved it. Then I proceeded to ask her if she agreed with my personal beef with the theological implications of something I read today…and I sounded just like my mom, and I loved it.

I’m confident – and hopeful – that I’m growing up to be like my parents in more ways than these.

A little later on, I checked into my hotel and then went out to get something to eat and ended up at Sonic.  Another point in the mom-isms category.  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under grapplings

2 responses to “Hand-me-downs

  1. Jeremy

    i can definitely hear dad saying that…

  2. Kay

    I am sitting in Hyatt Place (what dad would call a box hotel) eating mushy cantaloupe (what nate would call lope) and crying into my coffee cup. Thank you precious child. I love you

Leave a Reply

