good books, just fyi

So here are a few book recommendations in case you were looking for one.  These are totally different books and I am no sort of seasoned book reviewer or even that much of a reader…which oddly, I think particularly qualifies me to recommend books.

First, for deeper moments, or at least a window into some, is a weekly look at the Heidelberg catechism.  I’m not that far into it, but I have trouble not skipping ahead to the next Lord’s Day to get my reading in.  It’s surprisingly witty…which is a little weird/great:

The Good News We Almost Forgot, by Kevin Deyoung

And for lighter times, this one is just fun and funny and refreshing with some depth.  I heard about it through some friends and loved it.  Sometimes I feel like I’m not creative enough to read it or relate with the author, but I pushed on through and am trying to decide who to pass it along to.  If you’re reading this, hooray for you – you won that lottery and have been chosen to receive the recommendation…you can contact me if you want to borrow my copy.  I would enjoy mailing it to you and bonding over our love for it:

Cold Tangerines, by Shauna Niequist

And this one…this one I’ve read a few times and that is a totally new thing for me.  Make of that what you will.  This one’s also up for grabs if you want to borrow.  (For some reason I am really enamored of the idea of sharing books right now).

A Praying Life, by Paul Miller

Happy reading!

2 Comments

Filed under Giveaways, Tips, Uncategorized

2 responses to “good books, just fyi

  1. MattJ

    Nice books Marissa – I could definitely use some advice on “connecting with God in a distracting world.” I recently read an unbelievable missionary biography on Brother Yun called “The Heavenly Man” (think the book of Acts, but in 1980s China). Xochitl read it and had her mind blown as well. Good luck with the catechism essays! MJ

  2. Mary Beth

    Love “A Praying Life.” Really like the way you think and write. Looking forward to reading more from you…

Leave a Reply

